Tokyo was founded in 1457 under the name Edo and was a quiet town with a small population. This changed in 1603 when the Tokugawa Shogunate moved the seat of government to Edo. As a result the population increased substantially. After the collapse of the shogunate in 1868 and the establishment of a modern national government, the emperor took up official residence in Edo and moved the capital to Edo from Kyoto. The city was renamed Tokyo, meaning “Eastern Capital,” to reflect the change.

Tokyo was a regular city like any other in Japan until 1943, when the prefectural and municipal governments were merged. Because of this, Tokyo is not technically a city but rather an entire prefecture made up of 23 special independent wards, 26 additional cities and towns, and several islands stretching as far as 350 km out into the Pacific Ocean. The head of the municipal government is located in Shinjuku Ward, and provides prefectural administration over the cities and islands, as well as limited municipal administration for the shared services of the 23 wards, such as water, sewage, and fire services. Each of the 23 wards has its own government administration and is more or less analogous to an independent city, complete with an elected mayor.

Note that this page represents only the 23 special wards of Tokyo, and none of the other cities in Tokyo prefecture.

Total Area of the 23 wards: 621.49 km²

Ward List: Adachi-ku, Arakawa-ku, Itabashi-ku, Edogawa-ku, Ota-ku, Katsushika-ku, Kita-ku, Koto-ku, Shinagawa-ku, Shibuya-ku, Shinjuku-ku, Suginami-ku, Sumida-ku, Setagaya-ku, Taito-ku, Chuo-ku, Chiyoda-ku, Toshima-ku, Nakano-ku, Nerima-ku, Bunkyo-ku, Minato-ku, Meguro-ku

Building Search  
Phorio Page

Building Status Default  • All  • Built  • Under Construction  • On Hold  • Proposed  • Stale Proposal  • Cancelled  • Destroyed  • Vision  • Fantasy

Listing 1501 to 1525 of 1525 buildings
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16
Yodobashi Ueno Building9built2008
Nippori Ekimae Chuo Building10built1992(1)
Nakano Ward Office9built1968(1)
Carrot Tower27built1996
Prefectural Assembly Hall16built
Ota Ward Office11built1998
Marunouchi-Nakadori Building10built1971(1)
Shin-Tokyo Building9built1963
Otemachi Building9built1958(1)
Shinagawa Incineration Plant8built2005
NTT Communications Otemachi Building7built1961
Edogawa General Citizens Hall7built1999
Bamboo House 16built(1)
Arakawa Ward Office6built
Edogawa Incineration Plant5built1997
National Diet Building4built1936(1)
Tokyo Station Marunouchi Building3built1914
Bank of Japan Head Office Old Building3built1896
Tokyo National Museum2built1937
Akasaka Geihinkan2built1909
TEPCO Shinagawa Thermal Power Plantbuilt(1)
Sumida Incineration Plantbuilt1998
Setagaya Incineration Plantbuilt2007
Nerima Incineration Plantbuilt1992(1)
Katsushika Incineration Plantbuilt2006
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16