Tokyo was founded in 1457 under the name Edo and was a quiet town with a small population. This changed in 1603 when the Tokugawa Shogunate moved the seat of government to Edo. As a result the population increased substantially. After the collapse of the shogunate in 1868 and the establishment of a modern national government, the emperor took up official residence in Edo and moved the capital to Edo from Kyoto. The city was renamed Tokyo, meaning “Eastern Capital,” to reflect the change.

Tokyo was a regular city like any other in Japan until 1943, when the prefectural and municipal governments were merged. Because of this, Tokyo is not technically a city but rather an entire prefecture made up of 23 special independent wards, 26 additional cities and towns, and several islands stretching as far as 350 km out into the Pacific Ocean. The head of the municipal government is located in Shinjuku Ward, and provides prefectural administration over the cities and islands, as well as limited municipal administration for the shared services of the 23 wards, such as water, sewage, and fire services. Each of the 23 wards has its own government administration and is more or less analogous to an independent city, complete with an elected mayor.

Note that this page represents only the 23 special wards of Tokyo, and none of the other cities in Tokyo prefecture.

Total Area of the 23 wards: 621.49 km²

Ward List: Adachi-ku, Arakawa-ku, Itabashi-ku, Edogawa-ku, Ota-ku, Katsushika-ku, Kita-ku, Koto-ku, Shinagawa-ku, Shibuya-ku, Shinjuku-ku, Suginami-ku, Sumida-ku, Setagaya-ku, Taito-ku, Chuo-ku, Chiyoda-ku, Toshima-ku, Nakano-ku, Nerima-ku, Bunkyo-ku, Minato-ku, Meguro-ku

Building Search  
Phorio Page

Building Status Default  • All  • Built  • Under Construction  • On Hold  • Proposed  • Stale Proposal  • Cancelled  • Destroyed  • Vision  • Fantasy

Listing 1 to 51 of 51 buildings
Tokyo World Trade Center Building40destroyed(3)
Grand Prince Hotel Akasaka39destroyed(1)
Shinsei Bank Headquarters21destroyed(1)
Hotel Sofitel Tokyo26destroyed(1)
Resona Maruha Building24destroyed(1)
Otemachi Financial Center24destroyed(1)
Mitsui Bussan Building24destroyed
Mitsubishi Tokyo UFJ Bank Otemachi Building25destroyed(1)
Ochanomizu Central Building20destroyed(1)
Roppongi 25 Mori Building25destroyed
Tokyo Bank Association Building20destroyed(1)
IBM Japan Headquarters22destroyed
GSK Building18destroyed
JX Building20destroyed(1)
Ryoshin Hamarikyu Building20destroyed(1)
JFE Building18destroyed
Kajima Corporation Headquarters Building 221destroyed
DIC Building18destroyed
Old Sankei Building20destroyed
Hazama Building19destroyed
Daiichi Seimei Mutual Building14destroyed
Yaesu Fujiya Hotel17destroyed
Takeshiba Building12destroyed
Mizuho Corporate Bank Head Office14destroyed(1)
Tokyo Denki University Kanda Campus17destroyed(1)
Akasaka Twin Tower Main Building18destroyed
Akasaka Twin Tower East Building18destroyed
Kajima Corporation Headquarters Building 118destroyed
Sanyo Electric Tokyo Branch Office15destroyed
Mizuho Bank Otemachi Headquarters Building16destroyed
International Medical Center of Japan16destroyed
Yaesu Center Building14destroyed
Tamachi Police Residence Number 121destroyed
Tetsudo Kaikan Building12destroyed(1)
Shionogi Shibuya Building16destroyed
Juntendo University Building 915destroyed
Juntendo University Building 214destroyed
Mitsubishi Shoji Building15destroyed(1)
Mitsubishi Research Institute Building15destroyed
Nippon Building14destroyed(1)
Sumitomo Trust Tokyo Building12destroyed
Shin-Sumitomo Building12destroyed
Mitsubishi UFJ Trust Tokyo Building12destroyed
Itopia Hamarikyu14destroyed(1)
Togin Building13destroyed(1)
Nakagin Capsule Tower13destroyed(1)
Old Marunouchi Building9destroyed(1)
Fuji Building10destroyed
Old Shin-Marunouchi Building8destroyed
Toshima Ward Office7destroyed