Tokyo was founded in 1457 under the name Edo and was a quiet town with a small population. This changed in 1603 when the Tokugawa Shogunate moved the seat of government to Edo. As a result the population increased substantially. After the collapse of the shogunate in 1868 and the establishment of a modern national government, the emperor took up official residence in Edo and moved the capital to Edo from Kyoto. The city was renamed Tokyo, meaning “Eastern Capital,” to reflect the change.

Tokyo was a regular city like any other in Japan until 1943, when the prefectural and municipal governments were merged. Because of this, Tokyo is not technically a city but rather an entire prefecture made up of 23 special independent wards, 26 additional cities and towns, and several islands stretching as far as 350 km out into the Pacific Ocean. The head of the municipal government is located in Shinjuku Ward, and provides prefectural administration over the cities and islands, as well as limited municipal administration for the shared services of the 23 wards, such as water, sewage, and fire services. Each of the 23 wards has its own government administration and is more or less analogous to an independent city, complete with an elected mayor.

Note that this page represents only the 23 special wards of Tokyo, and none of the other cities in Tokyo prefecture.

Total Area of the 23 wards: 621.49 km²

Ward List: Adachi-ku, Arakawa-ku, Itabashi-ku, Edogawa-ku, Ota-ku, Katsushika-ku, Kita-ku, Koto-ku, Shinagawa-ku, Shibuya-ku, Shinjuku-ku, Suginami-ku, Sumida-ku, Setagaya-ku, Taito-ku, Chuo-ku, Chiyoda-ku, Toshima-ku, Nakano-ku, Nerima-ku, Bunkyo-ku, Minato-ku, Meguro-ku

Building Search  
Phorio Page

Building Status Default  • All  • Built  • Under Construction  • On Hold  • Proposed  • Stale Proposal  • Cancelled  • Destroyed  • Vision  • Fantasy

Listing 1 to 43 of 43 buildings
Torch Tower63under construction(2)
Nihonbashi 1-Chome Central District Redeve...52under construction(1)
Toranomon Azabudai West Tower64under construction(1)
Tokyo Ekimae Yaesu 1-Chome B51under construction(1)
Toranomon Azabudai East Tower54under construction(1)
Shibaura 1-Chome Rebuilding Project South ...43under construction(1)
World Trade Center Main Tower46under construction(1)
Tokyo World Gate Akasaka43under construction(1)
Grand City Tower Tsukishima58under construction
Minami-Ikebukuro 2-Chome District Redevelo...52under construction
The Toyomi Tower Marine and Sky West Tower53under construction
The Toyomi Tower Marine and Sky East Tower53under construction
Minami-Ikebukuro 2-Chome District Redevelo...47under construction
World Tower Residence46under construction
Toranomon 2-chome Office Project38under construction
Tsukishima 3-chome Minami District Redevel...48under construction
Harumi Flag Sky Duo Sun Village50under construction
Harumi Flag Sky Duo Park Village50under construction
Takanawa Gateway City Block 144under construction
Shin TODA Building28under construction
Takanawa Gateway City Block 331under construction
Takanawa Gateway City Block 4 North29under construction
Minami-Aoyama 3-Chome Project38under construction
Takanawa Gateway City Block 4 South30under construction
City Tower Senjuohashi42under construction
La Tour Shinjuku First33under construction
International Akasaka Building28under construction
Nakano Parkhouse37under construction
Roppongi 7-chome Plan22under construction
Sky Tower Shinjuku35under construction
Park Wellstate Nishiazabu36under construction
Proud Tower Meguro MARC32under construction
Shibuya 2 Chome 17 District Redevelopment23under construction
Proud Tower Shibaura33under construction
Dogenzaka Dori28under construction
Sumitimi Fudosan Shinjuku Minamiguchi Buil...18under construction
Nakano 2-chome Office Project20under construction
Nishiaza Roppongidori Building Project32under construction
Atlas Tower Gotanda30under construction
Brillia Tower Ikebukuro West30under construction
Tokyo International Univ. Ikebukuro Campus22under construction
Sompo Japan Kasumigaseki Building16under construction
Toranomon Hills Station Tower A-312under construction