Tokyo was founded in 1457 under the name Edo and was a quiet town with a small population. This changed in 1603 when the Tokugawa Shogunate moved the seat of government to Edo. As a result the population increased substantially. After the collapse of the shogunate in 1868 and the establishment of a modern national government, the emperor took up official residence in Edo and moved the capital to Edo from Kyoto. The city was renamed Tokyo, meaning “Eastern Capital,” to reflect the change.

Tokyo was a regular city like any other in Japan until 1943, when the prefectural and municipal governments were merged. Because of this, Tokyo is not technically a city but rather an entire prefecture made up of 23 special independent wards, 26 additional cities and towns, and several islands stretching as far as 350 km out into the Pacific Ocean. The head of the municipal government is located in Shinjuku Ward, and provides prefectural administration over the cities and islands, as well as limited municipal administration for the shared services of the 23 wards, such as water, sewage, and fire services. Each of the 23 wards has its own government administration and is more or less analogous to an independent city, complete with an elected mayor.

Note that this page represents only the 23 special wards of Tokyo, and none of the other cities in Tokyo prefecture.

Total Area of the 23 wards: 621.49 km²

Ward List: Adachi-ku, Arakawa-ku, Itabashi-ku, Edogawa-ku, Ota-ku, Katsushika-ku, Kita-ku, Koto-ku, Shinagawa-ku, Shibuya-ku, Shinjuku-ku, Suginami-ku, Sumida-ku, Setagaya-ku, Taito-ku, Chuo-ku, Chiyoda-ku, Toshima-ku, Nakano-ku, Nerima-ku, Bunkyo-ku, Minato-ku, Meguro-ku

Building Search  
Phorio Page

Building Status Default  • All  • Built  • Under Construction  • On Hold  • Proposed  • Stale Proposal  • Cancelled  • Destroyed  • Vision  • Fantasy

Listing 1201 to 1300 of 1591 buildings
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 Next>
Tamachi Tosei Building14built1992
Kanden Fudosan Yaesu Building13built2022
Sumitomo Fudosan Ueno Okachimachi Building12built2022
Park Tower Oji River Grace20built2007
Ikedayama Heights19built2004
MUFG Bank Nihonbashi Branch14built
Shiba 2-chome Building14built
Sompo Hall17built1978
Inui Kachidoki Building16built
Palroad Akabane 218built
Municipal Konan 3-chome Apartments16built
Shibusawa City Place Eitai14built2004
Mid-Town West13built2007
East Parks Ojima Central Square21built
The Jingumae Residence20built2013
La Place Gotanda West20built2004
National Cancer Center Residence19built
Noa Building15built1974
Nikken Sekkei Tokyo Building14built
Tokyo View Marks20built2003
APA Hotel & Resort Nishi-Shinjuku 5-chome ...20built2018
GrandCity Laputa Tower20built2002
Nissay Toranomon Building16built
Tokyo Park Side Building14built1991
Shinmeguro Tokyu Building14built2012
Nihombashi Mitsukoshi Head Office New Buil...13built
Park Axis Toyosu Canal19built2015
Bancho Park House17built2007
Hotel Le Port Kojimachi15built1998
Nihon University Faculty of Economics Buil...14built
Tamachi Residence 219built1988
Waseda University Okubo Campus Building 5118built1967
OBIC Tokyo Headquarters Building13built2004
JR East Japan General Hospital16built
Tomin Tower Ukima 3-chome20built1999
Classy House Shibaura20built2017
Clio Tower Otsukadai19built2004
Plars Tower Higashi-Shinjuku18built2006
Aoyama Oval Building16built1988
Akasaka Star Gate Plaza16built2011
Sumitomo Realty Shiba Building15built1990
Sumitomo Fudosan Nishishinjuku 8-chome Bui...14built
Shibuya Police Headquarters14built1995
Morinaga Dairy Konan Building14built1989
Park Tower Kameido Station Arena20built2004
New Rise City Tokyo Bay Highrise20built2006
Hiroo Towers18built1973(1)
Japan Communist Party Headquarters16built
Daiwa House Kudan Building13built2002
Ueno Eins Tower19built2002
TDC Building14built2001
Brugge Higashi-Ojima20built2005
Sumitomo Shiba-Daimon Building14built1986
MS Shibaura Building13built
Otsuka Company Headquarters12built2003
Tomin Heim Kaigan 3-chome20built
Lions Tower Akabane20built1999
Tokyo University of Science Building 117built
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Tokyo Ariake17built2018
Atago Toyo Building16built
Sumitomo Shoji Kanda-Izumicho Building14built1985(1)
Anzen Eisei Sogo Hall14built1999
Myrtle Court Ebisu 200020built
United Nations University Headquarters14built1992
Toyosaka Plaza15built
Kudan 2nd Government Building15built
Shuwa Shiba Park Building14built1982
Keikyu Building 114built
Bandai Head Office Building14built2004(1)
Yamanote Building12built
Chitoku Building12built1973
NTT Otemachi Annex Building11built
Hulic Oyama 2nd Building9built2008
L-AGE Koishikawa20built2000
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Annex18built
Takebashi Union Building15built1979
Nihombashi Plaza Building14built
The Tower Shibaura19built2007
Japan Sports Olympic Square14built2019
Grand Eagle Tamagawa Alivio19built2007
AIST Tokyo Waterfront Annex12built2005
Hitachi Omori Second Annex Building15built
Yakult Headquarters16built
Roppongi View Tower20built
Plaza Motokaga Building G20built1985(1)
Aoyama Tower Building16built1969(1)
Iidabashi First Building14built2003
The Sasakawa Hall12built
Higashi-Yotsugi 4-chome Apartment Building 120built1996
Caesar Sky Tower Hakozaki20built1999
Grand Hills Minamiaoyama18built2022
JBP Shiba Building15built
Iwanami Shoten Headquarters15built
Nisshin Building14built1993
Nibancho Park Forest14built2004
Hotel Lungwood13built
Zenkoku Choson Hall16built
APA Hotel & Resort Roppongi Station East18built2022
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 Next>