Tokyo was founded in 1457 under the name Edo and was a quiet town with a small population. This changed in 1603 when the Tokugawa Shogunate moved the seat of government to Edo. As a result the population increased substantially. After the collapse of the shogunate in 1868 and the establishment of a modern national government, the emperor took up official residence in Edo and moved the capital to Edo from Kyoto. The city was renamed Tokyo, meaning “Eastern Capital,” to reflect the change.

Tokyo was a regular city like any other in Japan until 1943, when the prefectural and municipal governments were merged. Because of this, Tokyo is not technically a city but rather an entire prefecture made up of 23 special independent wards, 26 additional cities and towns, and several islands stretching as far as 350 km out into the Pacific Ocean. The head of the municipal government is located in Shinjuku Ward, and provides prefectural administration over the cities and islands, as well as limited municipal administration for the shared services of the 23 wards, such as water, sewage, and fire services. Each of the 23 wards has its own government administration and is more or less analogous to an independent city, complete with an elected mayor.

Note that this page represents only the 23 special wards of Tokyo, and none of the other cities in Tokyo prefecture.

Total Area of the 23 wards: 621.49 km²

Ward List: Adachi-ku, Arakawa-ku, Itabashi-ku, Edogawa-ku, Ota-ku, Katsushika-ku, Kita-ku, Koto-ku, Shinagawa-ku, Shibuya-ku, Shinjuku-ku, Suginami-ku, Sumida-ku, Setagaya-ku, Taito-ku, Chuo-ku, Chiyoda-ku, Toshima-ku, Nakano-ku, Nerima-ku, Bunkyo-ku, Minato-ku, Meguro-ku

Building Search  
Phorio Page

Building Status Default  • All  • Built  • Under Construction  • On Hold  • Proposed  • Stale Proposal  • Cancelled  • Destroyed  • Vision  • Fantasy

Listing 1001 to 1100 of 1590 buildings
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 Next>
Charming Square Toyosu23built2008
Daiwa Ogikubo Tower18built1993
Initia Senju Akebonocho24built2009
Wellith Tower Atago Toranomon22built2014
Koishikawa Park Tower23built1991
Trinity Shibaura24built1988
Oval Court Ohsaki Mark West17built2004
Ariake Frontier Building B12built1996
Kokusai Shin-Akasaka West Building18built1980(1)
Showa University Hospital Entry Ward17built1980
Takashimaya Times Square14built1996(1)
NHK Science & Technical Research Laborator...14built2001
Prime Maison Sirokanedai Tower23built2016
Forefront Tower18built1991(1)
Sumitomo Fudosan Ikebukuro Higashi Building14built2019
Juntendo University Building 117built
Roppongi Ark Towers East25built1986
Regno Sereno24built2008
Jissen Women's University Shibuya Campus17built2014
Via Inn Akihabara25built2010
Sumitomo Fudosan Sarugakucho Building17built1992
Tomin Tower Tamagawa 2-chome 2625built1998
City Tower Ginza Higashi22built2019
Park Tower Takanawa21built2013
Proud Tower Higashi Ikebukuro20built2019
Sun Towers Center Building18built1992
NT Building17built1996
Omori Bellport Building E18built
Omori Bellport Building D18built
Omori Bellport Building B18built
Omori Bellport Building A18built
Tokyo Medical and Dental University Hospital17built1996
Okuma Memorial Tower17built2006
Fujisawa Building17built1986(1)
Ward House 5-chome Residence22built1998
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon17built1999
Tokyo Daiya Building 515built1990
METI Building18built1984(1)
Ebisu Neonart18built1994
La Tour Kagurazaka24built2002
Sumitomo Realty Shinagawa Building17built1994
Sumitomo Fudosan Kudan Building15built2006
Sequence Miyashita Park18built2020
Marunouchi Chuo Building14built
Okura Heritage Wing13built2019
Nishi-Waseda City Tower23built1999
Sophia University Building 218built2005
SYD Building16built1996
Shintoradori CORE15built2018
IM Tower14built2016
Nichirei Akashicho Building18built1988
Omori Master Place24built1998
Hotel Sunroute Ariake20built2009
Akihabara Center Place Building16built2007
Daiichi Sankyo Headquarters A Building15built2011
Yurakucho Mullion Building14built1984
Tokyo Club Building14built2007
REMM Akihabara Hotel18built2008
Ishima Building18built
Sophia Tower17built2017
City Tower Akabane Terrace23built2012
Wellith Tower Chiyoda Iwamotocho23built2013
Park Tower Itabashi21built2014
Tokyo Metropolitan Police Department Headq...18built1980(1)
Shiba NBF Tower18built
Mebks Toyosu12built2021
Seishin-Minami Heights Building 1-623built
Seishin-Kita Heights Building 723built
Seishin-Kita Heights Building 523built
Gentle Air Jingumae22built2007
Shimbashi Embujo Building17built
Higashi Gotanda Square16built2009
Crescent Tokyo View Tower24built2005
Shibaura Square Heights23built1989
Across Meguro Tower22built2003
Japan Amway Headquarters13built
Crevia Tower Oimachi The Residence21built2020
Via Inn Tokyo Oimachi20built2009
Residia Tower Kami Ikebukuro22built2009
Court Residence Tower21built2007
Asuto With20built2015
Ochanomizu NK Building17built2006
Daiichi Sankyo Kasai Research & Developmen...14built1990
Sumida Riverside Tower22built
Kyobashi Plaza22built1999
Itabashi Sun City Building D23built
Tamachi Center Building15built1994
Osaki Front Tower15built2005
Canon Shimo-Maruko Research Building14built
Sasazuka NA Building18built1993
Tokyo University Medical Faculty Training ...14built
Kowa Nishi-Shinbashi Building16built1996
Kowa Nishi-Shinbashi B Building16built1994
Nittochi Building19built1974(1)
Roppongi Hills Residence Building D18built2003
Higashi-Yotsugi 4-chome Apartment Building 224built1996
Hotel New Otani17built1964(1)
Honda Aoyama Building17built1985
NBF Ueno Building13built2010
Lexington Square Shirokane Takanawa21built2006
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 Next>