HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Regional Sections > Canada > Atlantic Provinces > Halifax > Halifax Peninsula & Downtown Dartmouth

Old Posted May 13, 2008, 10:26 PM
Dartmouth Girl

[Dartmouth] NSCC Waterfront Campus CBE | ? m | 4 fl | Completed

NSCC's new half of the Waterfront Campus, the CBE "Centre for the Built Environment"

I'm a student currently attending the Waterfront Campus, and will be for the next 2 years, so I guess I'll be the go-to guy for the SSP forum needs for this project

I've got some photos here I took today:

Prep work on the site has already begun:

Just to the south of the main building (along the waterfront towards the NS Hospital) the former Princess Alexandria Unit of the Nova Scotia Hospital has been demolished and I think the Marshall Building of the NS may be soon to go as well (not sure about that) But here is what's left of the NSH's adjacent property to the campus. (The Marshall Building is just to the left of this photo, along the still in-tact sidewalk)

Here is some info on the CBE that is available on the NSCC website:

*The CBE will act as the focal point, around which the N.S. construction industry can develop leading-edge environmental knowledge and sustainable practices that are in growing demand worldwide.

* At 120,000 square feet including an outdoor construction pavilion, the light-filled CBE features programs like Electrical Engineering, HVAC and Microelectronics.

* Large operable doors and walls will create flexible work spaces, allowing various trades to work together

* Environmental features include solar thermal panels, planted rooftops and biowalls

* Designed as a living test bed - the CBE will grow and evolve as new technologies are developed, tested and proven.

* Working with industry partners the College will develop new products, from concept through to commercial application