HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Photography Forums > My City Photos

Old Posted Mar 17, 2014, 2:19 AM

Rosslyn-Ballston - not quite a city, not quite a suburb

Here goes nothing. Long time lurker, first time contributor.

I’m an amateur, armed with just a cell phone camera and too much time on my hands, so I apologize for the quality. But, I hope this thread gives somewhat of a sense of the Rosslyn-Ballston area.

It’s basically a 2-mile stretch of “urban villages” centered around 5 Metro station. It’s hated by some for its cookie cutter feel and admired by others for its attempt to urbanize a suburb. I guess I tend to fall more into the latter camp.

Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn't put it on par with the urban cores of Bos, SF, Philly, DC, Chi, etc. But, I think R-B should be graded on a curve. It’s a streetcar suburb that has only been urbanizing for 30 years or so. It can feel contrived and has some real duds, particularly from the early years (60-90s), but it is a work in progress and is gradually getting more urban and textured (if not necessarily organic) with each passing year. IMO, most of the stuff built from 2005 on has basically been on par with low/midrise urban development in the traditional urban cities (take that either way).

I worked backward from Ballston back to Rosslyn/DC.

Ballston definitely has a master planned cookie cutter feel. But, it does have some pretty good height and density near the metro.

Humans!!! Ballston's pedestrian activity is still somewhat sporadic. Mostly people going to the mall or transferring at a bus stop. Not a lot of “third space” activity

See..A lovely “urban” style park, but not a lot of urban activity.. no people hanging out, no musicians, no vendors, etc.

A suburban canyon..

Not exactly Dupont Circle or the West Village, but a little bit of street life starting to emerge…