PDA

View Full Version : DSLR Advice

NumberFive
Aug 16, 2009, 3:36 PM
I figured there are enough good photographers that are part of this forum that this could be a good place to ask for advice.

My wife wants us to take the next step and upgrade from our P&S to a DSLR, especially prior to going on a major holiday we've booked in the spring of next year so that she can take some much better pictures. I've looked around a bit, done a little research. Seems to in a lot of cases narrow down to the Nikon D90 vs the Canon Rebel Ti, with different stores giving different opinions on which one has the edge.

Can anybody here give their advice on one vs the other? Or to take a completely different route all-together?

Appreciate any info I can get.

Bigtime
Aug 16, 2009, 5:34 PM
I'm a relative newbie to the DSLR thing, got mine a few months back.

Here is what I have:

Canon EOS Rebel XSI (also known as the EOS 450D)

Lenses:

-Canon EFS 18-55mm IS (Image Stabilizer). This is the lens the camera came with.
-Canon EF 70-300mm f4-5.6 IS USM

I've found the Canon very easy to get used to coming from P&S cameras (I had a Canon Powershot SD870 IS), and after a few months find myself trying out more and more of the functions available. I guess it is worth noting that I have had no issues with it either since I started shooting with it.

Vascilli
Aug 16, 2009, 6:53 PM
The T1i has the edge in the video department (1080p/20 or 720p/30 vs 720p/30) but neither are particularly good at it mainly because there's no autofocus. Beyond that it's a matter of ergonomics, if you've already got leftovers from an older camera (Sounds like you don't) and, often overlooked, is the cost of upgrading lenses in the future. Canon has lenses that Nikon doesn't, and vice versa. Which exclusive lenses you want is up to you, and can play into your decision.