HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Discussion Forums > Engineering

Old Posted Dec 5, 2006, 3:06 AM
Sawmill Billowtoker

Concrete pouring in sub-zero weather?

I was walking downtown on Saturday (I wasn't alone!) and I saw the construction site of the YMCA building. I found it odd that they were pumping cement in very non-ideal weather for cement-pouring. It was -10 C and there was snow forecasted later in the evening.

I work in the cement industry on the manufacturing of cement products (more specifically grouts and floor hardeners). I know that pouring concrete in subzero weather has many risks such as the concrete freezing, longer curing (hardening) times and threats of expansion-contraction cracking. So I was definitely concerned about the lack of heating units used to warm the concrete as it cured. I didn't see any.

Anyone care to comment on this?

Old Posted Dec 5, 2006, 3:31 PM
Senior Slacker

What type of structure were pouring - slab? columns? mass pour? For example on an unreinforced mass pour, they may have decided it wasn't necessary and just let the natural heat of hydration take care of it. For caissons or grade beams, they may be able to just cover them with insulating blankets (however the ground should be thawed out prior to pouring). For just about anything else, they could have a real problem!

Old Posted Dec 6, 2006, 4:12 AM
Sawmill Billowtoker

Not sure, I didn't really notice if there was rebar or not. Too busy looking for insulation or heating units.

Old Posted Dec 6, 2006, 6:29 AM

I test concrete for a living. The coldest I've tested in was 20 degrees Fareheit, and I was concerned about that. But, it was for an outdoor stairwell that was protected by a heated tent.

Some contractors will work in any circumstances.

Old Posted Dec 6, 2006, 3:23 PM
Senior Slacker