HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About
     

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Regional Sections > United States > Southwest


Reply

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
     
     
  #18041  
Old Posted Oct 16, 2020, 1:18 AM
CrestedSaguaro's Avatar
CrestedSaguaro CrestedSaguaro is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJPHXskyscraperfan View Post
I’m normally on my IPad, I don’t think I can do that on here,lol
Ah yeah. Ya got me there

Edit: On a side note, walked through AZ Center today and they now have a "virtual" Bank of America branch. It's completely set up for video conferencing with a teller, Not sure if that will change after COVID, but it looks permanent. Interesting that US Bank is closing the downtown branch while Chase and BoA have opened downtown branches.
__________________
Ronnie Garrett
https://skyscraperpage.com/diagrams/?memberID=205
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #18042  
Old Posted Oct 16, 2020, 2:37 AM
TJPHXskyscraperfan TJPHXskyscraperfan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrestedSaguaro View Post
Ah yeah. Ya got me there

Edit: On a side note, walked through AZ Center today and they now have a "virtual" Bank of America branch. It's completely set up for video conferencing with a teller, Not sure if that will change after COVID, but it looks permanent. Interesting that US Bank is closing the downtown branch while Chase and BoA have opened downtown branches.
Doesn’t seem like there’s a whole heck of a lot of things you need a branch for these days unless your buying a house or applying for a business loan or something. I don’t bank with US Bank but I wonder if they at least keep an ATM there?
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #18043  
Old Posted Oct 16, 2020, 3:08 AM
CrestedSaguaro's Avatar
CrestedSaguaro CrestedSaguaro is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJPHXskyscraperfan View Post
Doesn’t seem like there’s a whole heck of a lot of things you need a branch for these days unless your buying a house or applying for a business loan or something. I don’t bank with US Bank but I wonder if they at least keep an ATM there?
There's 1 inside the hallway next to the branch door. I'm sure they will at least keep it. You make a pretty good point. As we become less dependent on carrying cash, I suspect we'll see more virtual locations popping up.
__________________
Ronnie Garrett
https://skyscraperpage.com/diagrams/?memberID=205
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #18044  
Old Posted Oct 16, 2020, 5:14 PM
Obadno Obadno is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJPHXskyscraperfan View Post
Doesn’t seem like there’s a whole heck of a lot of things you need a branch for these days unless your buying a house or applying for a business loan or something. I don’t bank with US Bank but I wonder if they at least keep an ATM there?
Other than A major Business loan I would guess no, I mean I got my home loan without ever seeing anyone besides my appraiser and relator in person.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #18045  
Old Posted Oct 16, 2020, 11:03 PM
biggus diggus biggus diggus is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2,362
I have to go to a bank branch, and deal with a real person, twice a week minimum.
__________________
Please excuse the brevity, auto corrected words, and occasionally incoherent sentences as I'm usually posting from my phone.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #18046  
Old Posted Oct 17, 2020, 3:56 PM
gymratmanaz gymratmanaz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,807
Anyone know what is going on, or not going on, on the constructionton 40th St and McDowell? It was fenced off with blue netting. They levelled the land and now nothing. ???????
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #18047  
Old Posted Oct 19, 2020, 5:12 PM
CrestedSaguaro's Avatar
CrestedSaguaro CrestedSaguaro is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by gymratmanaz View Post
Anyone know what is going on, or not going on, on the constructionton 40th St and McDowell? It was fenced off with blue netting. They levelled the land and now nothing. ???????
It was/is going to be a data center. Not sure if it's still happening. It's been nearly 3 years since that was announced.

https://www.qtsdatacenters.com/data-centers/phoenix

https://www.orionprop.com/topfive/1b...r-phoenix-land

Edit:
I haven't been down McDowell in this area for quite some time, so I can't verify if the data center is under construction. But the picture in this article posted back in May seems to show there should be at least 1 building built. Is this the lot you are referring to or is it another lot?

https://azbigmedia.com/real-estate/d...here-to-build/
__________________
Ronnie Garrett
https://skyscraperpage.com/diagrams/?memberID=205
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #18048  
Old Posted Oct 19, 2020, 10:31 PM
gymratmanaz gymratmanaz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,807
It was going to be a data center. it was fenced off with colored screening and the land leveled. now the screening is gone and no work done. Looks like it died.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #18049  
Old Posted Oct 19, 2020, 10:44 PM
biggus diggus biggus diggus is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2,362
Looks like they had a bunch of permits issued with Markham Contracting, lots of site prep. Now they have a building permit not yet issued with DPR, my guess is they changed contractors. The DPR permit doesn't have an issue date yet but has an expiration of 10-5-23.
__________________
Please excuse the brevity, auto corrected words, and occasionally incoherent sentences as I'm usually posting from my phone.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #18050  
Old Posted Oct 19, 2020, 11:53 PM
biggus diggus biggus diggus is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2,362
__________________
Please excuse the brevity, auto corrected words, and occasionally incoherent sentences as I'm usually posting from my phone.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #18051  
Old Posted Yesterday, 11:30 PM
ASU Diablo ASU Diablo is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,400
Sources: Major semiconductor maker zeroing in on Phoenix site for huge factory

Well, my bet was that TSMC would land somewhere along the new 202 but looking like it will be the new North PHX employment corridor they are pushing hard for off the 303 and I-17

https://www.bizjournals.com/phoenix/...n-phoenix.html
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #18052  
Old Posted Today, 12:39 PM
combusean's Avatar
combusean combusean is offline
Skyriser
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Alameda, San José, California
Posts: 5,973
That was my last guess. I thought they would have been in the SE Valley around Mesa and the 202.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #18053  
Old Posted Today, 6:10 PM
Obadno Obadno is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,588
Lots of articles last yesterday about the Metro's outlook for the next several years.

All very rosey, and AZ/Phoenix has done economically quite well during the pandemic despite all odds.

Ill post them later.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #18054  
Old Posted Today, 6:24 PM
xymox xymox is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 829
Quote:
Originally Posted by combusean View Post
That was my last guess. I thought they would have been in the SE Valley around Mesa and the 202.
They said originally the site would be within the ‘City of Phoenix’ - so that limits where it would go to either: Desert Ridge, L303/17 or along the 202 (or somewhere else in the city but where would they have the room for what’s proposed here?)
__________________
mmmm skyscraper, I love you....
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #18055  
Old Posted Today, 8:33 PM
fawd fawd is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 553
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrestedSaguaro View Post
The other thing I would like to change is for the hotel to be adjacent to Central Ave instead of 1st St. Even though it's only 1/2 a block, it doesn't seem to be quite the right spot for it IMO.
Correct. Not sure that will be the final spot...

Specific location announcements (for all cities) is 'coming soon' per the CEO.

No idea what timeline 'soon' actually is.... but there you have it.
Reply With Quote
     
     
End
 
 
Reply

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Regional Sections > United States > Southwest
Forum Jump


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:02 PM.

     

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.