HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Urban Art > Google Sketchup

Old Posted Sep 22, 2009, 8:30 PM

Reflective Glass Buildings - Updated with WIP

Hi all,

I'm very new to Sketchup (discovered it 3 weeks ago). Since then I've been playing with it a lot for a kitchen remodel we're doing and just today I've been inspired to build some full buildings and perhaps even a town/city.

I've got a few basic models laid out and have started working on some road components, however the area I need help with is textures and materials. I plan to render scenes in Kerkythea and I've seen some great renderings on here of city scenes. One thing many of them have is photo real textures and reflective glass.

My first question is howdo people set models and textures up for the reflective glass? I won't be designing internals in the buildings so don't want the glass transparent. Do you simply create a face and colour it in SU before setting the refletivity of that material in Kerkythea?

Ideally is someone could point me to some 3D warehouse models that would demonstrate model for real looking (ie not painted on textures) windows that would be much appreciated.

Here's a quick render of my first untextured building. I'm not sure how much detail I can get away with modelling vs. texturing if this is going to be included in full city scene renders but for now I've gone for a moderate amount of detail.

Last edited by nevets2001uk; Sep 24, 2009 at 6:15 AM.

Old Posted Sep 22, 2009, 8:50 PM

I dont do any photo texturing but if you want reflective glass you have to model a window an d paint a translucent glass on it in sketch up and in kerky
edit the glass in kerky -so chose reflection and set near white for it to
reflect.................there is kerythea forums for rendering
sketchucation forum for sketch up,
kerky for sketch up thread in 3d designs in sscity forum.

worth looking at all tree......your model looks clean so im guessing