HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Photography Forums > General Photography

Old Posted Dec 11, 2012, 12:10 PM
Old Fart Forumer

Should I Charge?

I've had several instances where people/companies have contacted me asking permisssion to use one (or several) of my pics for publication. I've always said OK and just asked for them to acknowledge me as the photog. I recently received a second request from a design firm for photo use for one of their clients. Should I consider actually charging for the pics? If so, how much? I'm new to this aspect of picture taking.

Any ideas?

Retired, now Grandpa Daycare

Old Posted Dec 11, 2012, 1:35 PM
Becoming Chicago-fied!

Ex-Ith, I suggest you bring this topic up in the General Photography threads. There are a number of people who have discussed this very issue in the past over there. You'll probably get the most help that way!

Aaron (Glowrock)

Old Posted Dec 11, 2012, 2:02 PM
Old Fart Forumer

^ OK Aaron, how do I move it there?

Old Posted Dec 11, 2012, 4:22 PM
Kicking it Viking style..

If they ask for rights or profit from it you most certainly should!

Old Posted Dec 11, 2012, 4:30 PM
Sawmill Billowtoker

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ex-Ithacan View Post
^ OK Aaron, how do I move it there?
Just ask.

Old Posted Dec 11, 2012, 4:31 PM
Old Fart Forumer

^ Thanks X

FREKI, I believe they just want to use it for an ad campaign.

Old Posted Dec 11, 2012, 7:42 PM
Adoptive Chicagoan

Quote:
I've had several instances where people/companies have contacted me asking permisssion to use one (or several) of my pics for publication. I've always said OK and just asked for them to acknowledge me as the photog. I recently received a second request from a design firm for photo use for one of their clients. Should I consider actually charging for the pics? If so, how much? I'm new to this aspect of picture taking.

Any ideas?