Tokyo was founded in 1457 under the name Edo and was a quiet town with a small population. This changed in 1603 when the Tokugawa Shogunate moved the seat of government to Edo. As a result the population increased substantially. After the collapse of the shogunate in 1868 and the establishment of a modern national government, the emperor took up official residence in Edo and moved the capital to Edo from Kyoto. The city was renamed Tokyo, meaning “Eastern Capital,” to reflect the change.

Tokyo was a regular city like any other in Japan until 1943, when the prefectural and municipal governments were merged. Because of this, Tokyo is not technically a city but rather an entire prefecture made up of 23 special independent wards, 26 additional cities and towns, and several islands stretching as far as 350 km out into the Pacific Ocean. The head of the municipal government is located in Shinjuku Ward, and provides prefectural administration over the cities and islands, as well as limited municipal administration for the shared services of the 23 wards, such as water, sewage, and fire services. Each of the 23 wards has its own government administration and is more or less analogous to an independent city, complete with an elected mayor.

Note that this page represents only the 23 special wards of Tokyo, and none of the other cities in Tokyo prefecture.

Total Area of the 23 wards: 621.49 km²

Ward List: Adachi-ku, Arakawa-ku, Itabashi-ku, Edogawa-ku, Ota-ku, Katsushika-ku, Kita-ku, Koto-ku, Shinagawa-ku, Shibuya-ku, Shinjuku-ku, Suginami-ku, Sumida-ku, Setagaya-ku, Taito-ku, Chuo-ku, Chiyoda-ku, Toshima-ku, Nakano-ku, Nerima-ku, Bunkyo-ku, Minato-ku, Meguro-ku

Building Search  
Phorio Page

Building Status Default  • All  • Built  • Under Construction  • On Hold  • Proposed  • Stale Proposal  • Cancelled  • Destroyed  • Vision  • Fantasy

Listing 901 to 1000 of 1590 buildings
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 Next>
Nishikimachi Trads Square16built2013
Tokyo Health Plaza Hygeia18built1993
Okubo Hospital18built1993
Shinagawa Seaside South Tower18built2004
Oji Hall15built1991
S Tower20built2011
Shinagawa Seaside West Tower18built2004
Kasumigaseki Tokyu Building17built2010
La Vert Akashicho22built2004
Albio The Tower Chiyoda Iidabashi24built2021
Park House Tamagawa South Building 323built1993
City Tower Ebisu23built2019
City Tower Ebisu23built2019
Tokyodo Chiyoda Building20built1977(1)
Tornare Nihombashi-Hamacho Office Tower18built2005
Japan Patent Office16built
CS Tower18built1992
Shinbashi Tokyu Building16built2008
Park Tower Akihabara21built2006
Brillia Tower Shinagawa Seaside22built2006
Wakagi Tower18built2008
Tix Tower Ueno18built2010
Proud Tower Takanawadai23built2014
Remm Roppongi21built2017
Grand Hyatt Tokyo21built2001
Nishi-Toyama Tower Homes South Tower25built1988
Nishi-Toyama Tower Homes North Tower25built1988
Nishi-Toyama Tower Homes Central Tower25built1988
Sky City Toyosu Bayside Tower24built1997
Heiwa Headquarters Building16built2013
Park tower Takinogawa25built1990
Hikarigaoka Park Town Odori Central 125built1990
Konan 4-chome 3rd Apartment Building 424built2006
Lefond The Tower Otsuka23built2022
Shinagawa Glass Residence20built2007
The Itoyama Tower18built1997(1)
Atlas Tower Shirokane23built2023
Toranomon Twin Building20built1988
Itabashi Sun City G25built1980
The Residence Mita24built2014
Harumi View Plaza24built1996
The Court Jingu Gaien23built2020
Proud Tower Chiyoda Fujimi Residence21built2014
TBS Broadcasting Center20built1995
Bell Face Akihabara19built2005
Tri-Seven Roppongi18built2016
Kachidoki 1-chome Apartments 118built1999
Hirakawacho Residence18built2011
Sumitomo Fudosan Nishi Shinjuku Building 617built2008
Shinjuku I-Land Wing Building16built1994
Shinjuku 3-chome East Building14built2007
National Cancer Center Research Building14built2017
Jiji Press Headquarters Building14built
Ichou Torihigashi 3rd 125built1991
Shinjuku Yamabukicho Eins Tower24built2008
City Tower Yotsuya24built2004
Grand Suite Toranomon21built2007
Urbannet Kanda Building19built2012
Muromachi Chibagin Mitsui Building17built2014
JR Tokyu Meguro Building17built2002
Chiyoda First Building East17built1998
Ciels Garden L Tower25built2003
The Residence Roppongi23built2019
City Tower Shinagawa Park Front23built2018
Park Tower Tokyo East23built
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku23built2007
Ryogoku City Core18built1992
The Tower Residence Otsuka23built2012
The Parkhouse Mita Garden Residence & Tower22built2021
Hibiya Chanter18built
Yurakucho Denki South Building18built1975
Fuji Film Nishi-Azabu Building18built1969(1)
Nihombashi Hakozaki Building17built
Omori Prost City Residence25built2005
Senshu University Kanda Campus16built2020
World Kita-Aoyama Building14built2007
The Parkhouse Mita Tower23built2021
Hamarikyu Park Side Place17built2002
Ikebukuro Park Tower23built1999
Bella Casa Minami Ikebukuro22built2005
Meiji University Academy Commonbuilt2003
Kojimachi Park House19built2011
Sumitomo Fudosan Mita Building13built2015
Famille Shimo-Shimmei24built
National Center for Global Health and Medi...16built2010
Hikarigaoka Park Town Odori South 7-8-1 Bu...25built
Zexel Building18built
Rise Arena Building15built2007
Lions Toer Megurogawa23built2013
Pacific Tower Azabujyuban25built2003
Luxia Shinagawa Porto Citta22built2004
Park Tower Sanno24built2015
Park Tower Tokyo Front23built2004
Orix Inui Building18built
Idabashi Plano Stage Building17built2009
Tokyo Medical University Research Center16built2013
Link Square Shinjuku16built2019
Daini Tamachi Building16built2006
Green Prism Tower24built2005
Royal Park Hotel Tokyo18built1990
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 Next>