Tokyo was founded in 1457 under the name Edo and was a quiet town with a small population. This changed in 1603 when the Tokugawa Shogunate moved the seat of government to Edo. As a result the population increased substantially. After the collapse of the shogunate in 1868 and the establishment of a modern national government, the emperor took up official residence in Edo and moved the capital to Edo from Kyoto. The city was renamed Tokyo, meaning “Eastern Capital,” to reflect the change.

Tokyo was a regular city like any other in Japan until 1943, when the prefectural and municipal governments were merged. Because of this, Tokyo is not technically a city but rather an entire prefecture made up of 23 special independent wards, 26 additional cities and towns, and several islands stretching as far as 350 km out into the Pacific Ocean. The head of the municipal government is located in Shinjuku Ward, and provides prefectural administration over the cities and islands, as well as limited municipal administration for the shared services of the 23 wards, such as water, sewage, and fire services. Each of the 23 wards has its own government administration and is more or less analogous to an independent city, complete with an elected mayor.

Note that this page represents only the 23 special wards of Tokyo, and none of the other cities in Tokyo prefecture.

Total Area of the 23 wards: 621.49 km²

Ward List: Adachi-ku, Arakawa-ku, Itabashi-ku, Edogawa-ku, Ota-ku, Katsushika-ku, Kita-ku, Koto-ku, Shinagawa-ku, Shibuya-ku, Shinjuku-ku, Suginami-ku, Sumida-ku, Setagaya-ku, Taito-ku, Chuo-ku, Chiyoda-ku, Toshima-ku, Nakano-ku, Nerima-ku, Bunkyo-ku, Minato-ku, Meguro-ku

Building Search  
Phorio Page

Building Status Default  • All  • Built  • Under Construction  • On Hold  • Proposed  • Stale Proposal  • Cancelled  • Destroyed  • Vision  • Fantasy

Listing 601 to 700 of 1534 buildings
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 Next>
Juntendo Hospital Building B21built2011
Atlas Tower Hikifune28built2015
Toranomon Hospital19built2019
Marunouchi Trust Tower North Building19built2003(1)
The River Place South Tower28built2004
New Central Government Building No. 221built1983
Oakwood Premier Tokyo20built2015
Akasaka Center Building20built2013
Momento Shiodome23built2011
Sony City20built2006(1)
Galleria Grande27built2006
Atlas Tower Myogadani25built2011
JR Kanda Manseibashi Building20built2013
Ours Inn Hankyu30built2014
Glorio Tower Sugamo29built2006
Prime Parks Shinagawa Seaside The Tower29built2019
New Pier Takeshiba South Tower21built1995
Shinagawa Tower Face30built2005(1)
Residia Tower Meguro Fudomae30built2007
Proud Tower Nerima29built2009
Brillia Tower Osaki29built2007
Art Village Osaki View Tower28built2007
Le Cinq Osaki City Tower27built2006
Art Village Osaki Central Tower22built2006
Tokyo Telecom Center21built1995(1)
Sumitomo Fudosan Kanda Building19built2009
Sumitomo Fudosan Akihabara Building19built2009
Atlas Tower Roppongi29built2010
Platine Shinjuku Shintoshin27built2008
Saion Sakurazaka26built2009
Fukagawa Gatharia Tower North Building22built2007
Fukagawa Gatharia Tower South Building21built2003
Toppan Forms Building19built2003
Tokyo Sumitomo Twin Building East24built1988(1)
Tokyo Sumitomo Twin Building West21built1988(1)
Horizon Mare Ariake27built2005
City Tower Osaki Station Front29built2004
The River Place East Tower28built2004
Nichirei Higashi-Ginza Building22built1991(1)
Metropolitan Plaza Building22built1994
Casio Computers Co. Ltd. Head Office22built1997
Park Court Toranomon Atago Tower30built2008
Mid-Southern Residence Gotenyama27built2007
The River Place West Tower28built2005
Prism Tower27built2009
Triton Square Urban Tower28built2001
Atlas Tower Kita-Senju26built2004
Oji Asukayama The First Tower & Residence29built2016
Toranomon 2-chome Tower21built1999(1)
Jikei University School of Medicine Hospital21built1999
The Belgravia Azabu27built2009
TOC Ariake21built2006
M Yamano Tower27built2007
Lions Yotsuya Tower Gate29built2007
Nissay Ikebukuro Building21built2011
Station Front Tower30built2000
Leadence Tower28built2001
Granpark Heights28built1996
Tokyo Ward Governmental Hall21built
The Parkhouse Takanawa Tower26built2021
Sumitomo Fudosan Kanda Building 219built2009
Tour Jaune Komazawa-koen30built2000
Lietocourt Arx Tower27built2007
Tower Residence Yotsuya23built2002
UrbanNet Otemachi Building22built1990
Elsa Setagaya Tower & Residence29built2006
Oedo Tower Residence26built2015
Shinjuku Washington Hotel25built1986
Nakano Sun Cuore Tower26built1994
Shinjuku Eastside Square20built2011
Toppan Forms Koishikawa Building21built
Sumitomo Fudosan Harajuku Building20built2007
Famille Tsukishima Grand Suite Tower30built2002(1)
Park Court Nogizaka The Tower25built2019
Nishi-Kanda Cosmos Building25built
Odori Central Building 330built1992
Yokokawa 5-chome 2nd Apartment 428built1998
Shibaura Square Tower21built1989
Shinjuku Eins Tower29built2004
Aomi Frontier Building21built1996
Nippori Einstower28built2005
Asahi Beer Tower22built1990(1)
Arca Towers Kinshicho Arca West22built1997
Arca Towers Kinshicho Arca Central22built1997
Proud Tower Higashi-Gotanda25built2008
Crowne Plaza Hotel Metropolitan25built1985
Emieru Tower Takenotsuka27built2005
Ginza Tower25built2003
Tobu Hotel Levant Tokyo24built
Arca Towers Kinshicho Tokyo Marriott Hotel...24built1997
Yokoso Rainbow Tower23built1995(1)
City Heights Takeshiba23built1998
The Argyle Aoyama20built2020
Majes Tower Roppongi27built2006
Tokyo Alba Tower31built2002
Aoyama M's Tower25built2008
Shinjuku Prince Hotel25built1977(1)
Shin-Aoyama Building West Wing23built1978(1)
Shin-Aoyama Building East Wing23built1978(1)
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 Next>