Tokyo was founded in 1457 under the name Edo and was a quiet town with a small population. This changed in 1603 when the Tokugawa Shogunate moved the seat of government to Edo. As a result the population increased substantially. After the collapse of the shogunate in 1868 and the establishment of a modern national government, the emperor took up official residence in Edo and moved the capital to Edo from Kyoto. The city was renamed Tokyo, meaning “Eastern Capital,” to reflect the change.

Tokyo was a regular city like any other in Japan until 1943, when the prefectural and municipal governments were merged. Because of this, Tokyo is not technically a city but rather an entire prefecture made up of 23 special independent wards, 26 additional cities and towns, and several islands stretching as far as 350 km out into the Pacific Ocean. The head of the municipal government is located in Shinjuku Ward, and provides prefectural administration over the cities and islands, as well as limited municipal administration for the shared services of the 23 wards, such as water, sewage, and fire services. Each of the 23 wards has its own government administration and is more or less analogous to an independent city, complete with an elected mayor.

Note that this page represents only the 23 special wards of Tokyo, and none of the other cities in Tokyo prefecture.

Total Area of the 23 wards: 621.49 km²

Ward List: Adachi-ku, Arakawa-ku, Itabashi-ku, Edogawa-ku, Ota-ku, Katsushika-ku, Kita-ku, Koto-ku, Shinagawa-ku, Shibuya-ku, Shinjuku-ku, Suginami-ku, Sumida-ku, Setagaya-ku, Taito-ku, Chuo-ku, Chiyoda-ku, Toshima-ku, Nakano-ku, Nerima-ku, Bunkyo-ku, Minato-ku, Meguro-ku

Building Search  
Phorio Page

Building Status Default  • All  • Built  • Under Construction  • On Hold  • Proposed  • Stale Proposal  • Cancelled  • Destroyed  • Vision  • Fantasy

Listing 501 to 600 of 1534 buildings
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 Next>
Acro City Towers G Port32built1992
ADK Shochiku Square23built2002
Tomin Tower Minami-Senju 4-Chome32built1999
Alpha Grande Koiwa Sky First29built2015
Atlas Tower Nishi-Shinjuku28built2006
Park Court Aoyama The Tower26built2018
Le Cinq Osaki Wiz Tower25built2014
Muromachi Higashi Mitsui Building22built2010
Mitsui Sumitomo Insurance Surugadai Annex22built2012
Park Tower Shibaura Bayward Urban Wing29built2005
Park Tower Shibaura Bayward Ocean Wing29built2005
Tokyo Park Tower29built2003
Akasaka Tameike Tower25built2000
Daido Seimei Kasumigaseki Building20built2003
Tennozu View Tower33built1995(1)
Park Cube Atagoyama Tower31built2007
Searea Odaiba Area 3 Building 433built1996
Central Residence Shinjuku City Tower31built2001
Prospect Axe The Tower Shinjuku32built2006
Tokyo Prince Hotel Park Tower30built2005
Chiyoda Ward Office23built2007(1)
City Tower Oimachi29built2019
Musashino Towers Sky Cross Tower31built2010
Laguna Tower31built2005
Park Tower Higashi-Nakano30built2007
Musashino Towers Sky Gate Tower28built2010
Yaesu First Financial Building20built2007
Storia Shinagawa31built2003(1)
Senior Work Tokyo - Tomin Tower Iidabashi ...25built1996
Mitsui Sumitomo Kaijo Surugadai Building25built1984(1)
Shibuya Fukuras18built2019
Sumitomo Nakano-Sakaue Building24built1999
Sailor Komatsugawa Building 1033built1990
Itabashi View Tower32built2001
Diver City Tokyo Office Tower21built2012
Meguro Gajoen Alco Tower19built1991
Moto-Azabu Hills Forest Tower29built2002
The Park House Shirokanedai 2-Chome Tower27built2018
Lietocourt Natsumezaka30built2008
Tennozu Park Side Building22built1995(1)
Futako-Tamagawa Rise Tower and Residence B...28built2010(1)
Futako-Tamagawa Rise Tower and Residence B...28built2010(1)
Classy Tower Higashi-Nakano27built2015
Hitachi Software Tower A23built2002
TEPCO Building22built1997(1)
Shin-Saiwaibashi Building22built1996
Hitachi Software Tower B22built2002
Shibuya Infos Tower21built1998(1)
JA Kyosai Building21built2011
Ebisu View Tower32built1994
Lower House Member Akasaka Residence28built2007
NHK Broadcasting Center23built1973(1)
Brillia Oimachi Lavieen Tower28built2012
Shinagawa Seaside North Tower23built2003
Panasonic Tower23built2003
Avex Building18built2017
Ariake Central Tower20built2011
River Pier Azumabashi Life Tower30built1989
Seafort Square Seafort Tower29built1992
Seafort Square Center Building23built1992
Seafort Square Citigroup Center22built1992
Seafort Square JTB Building20built1992
Time 24 Building19built1996(1)
Shinagawa Seaside View Tower II30built2004
Shinagawa Seaside View Tower 130built2003
J. City Tower24built1994
The Park Residences at the Ritz-Carlton Tokyo30built2007
Tokyo Baycourt Club Hotel and Spa Resort26built2007(1)
Shinagawa Seaside East Tower23built2004
Morinaga Plaza Building24built1974
Konan W Building21built1997(1)
Tokyo Bay City Tower30built2014
The Park House Sangenjaya Tower30built2012
Brillia The Tower Tokyo Yaesu Avenue30built2017
Belle Face Shibaura Tower30built2010
Grand Suite Azabudai Hilltop Tower29built2014
Park Tower Kinshicho28built2009
Catherina Mita Towersuite West Ark28built2006
Sky Forest Residence Tower & Suite26built2014
Ote Center Building24built1983(2)
Nakano Central Park South22built2012
Shibuya Parco19built2019
Laurel Court Shinjuku Tower32built2002
The Hilltop Tower Takanawadai28built2010
Kurasu Aoyama25built2020
Bunkyo Green Court Center Office23built1998
Chuo Mitsui Trust & Banking Co. Head Office22built2000(1)
Kayabacho Tower21built1996(1)
Gotenyama Trust Tower21built1990
Riverside Yomiuri Building20built1994(1)
Daiya Gate Ikebukuro20built2019
Proud Tower Oizumi-gakuen27built2015
Gotenyama Trust Court25built1990
New Pier Takeshiba North Tower24built1991(1)
Kokusai Shin-Akasaka East Building24built1980(1)
Hotel Intercontinental Tokyo Bay24built1995
Azur Takeshiba22built1991(1)
JR Shinagawa East Building20built2004
Lions Tower Ojima30built2004
Shibuya Mark City East25built2000(1)
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 Next>