Tokyo was founded in 1457 under the name Edo and was a quiet town with a small population. This changed in 1603 when the Tokugawa Shogunate moved the seat of government to Edo. As a result the population increased substantially. After the collapse of the shogunate in 1868 and the establishment of a modern national government, the emperor took up official residence in Edo and moved the capital to Edo from Kyoto. The city was renamed Tokyo, meaning “Eastern Capital,” to reflect the change.

Tokyo was a regular city like any other in Japan until 1943, when the prefectural and municipal governments were merged. Because of this, Tokyo is not technically a city but rather an entire prefecture made up of 23 special independent wards, 26 additional cities and towns, and several islands stretching as far as 350 km out into the Pacific Ocean. The head of the municipal government is located in Shinjuku Ward, and provides prefectural administration over the cities and islands, as well as limited municipal administration for the shared services of the 23 wards, such as water, sewage, and fire services. Each of the 23 wards has its own government administration and is more or less analogous to an independent city, complete with an elected mayor.

Note that this page represents only the 23 special wards of Tokyo, and none of the other cities in Tokyo prefecture.

Total Area of the 23 wards: 621.49 km²

Ward List: Adachi-ku, Arakawa-ku, Itabashi-ku, Edogawa-ku, Ota-ku, Katsushika-ku, Kita-ku, Koto-ku, Shinagawa-ku, Shibuya-ku, Shinjuku-ku, Suginami-ku, Sumida-ku, Setagaya-ku, Taito-ku, Chuo-ku, Chiyoda-ku, Toshima-ku, Nakano-ku, Nerima-ku, Bunkyo-ku, Minato-ku, Meguro-ku

Building Search  
Phorio Page

Building Status Default  • All  • Built  • Under Construction  • On Hold  • Proposed  • Stale Proposal  • Cancelled  • Destroyed  • Vision  • Fantasy

Listing 1401 to 1500 of 1551 buildings
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 Next>
Toyocho Central Tower19built2004
Park House Kiyosumi-Shirakawa Station Side...20built2005
Park House Kiyosumi-Shirakawa Riverside Bu...20built2005
Shibuya First Place14built2005
QR Media Tower13built2006
Tokyo Metropolitan Art Space10built1990
Shisunabu Ikebukuro-Honcho19built1997
TIS Takeshiba Building10built2000
Roppongi Hills Hollywood Beauty Plaza15built2003
Meiji Milk Headquarters14built2001
Roppongi Hills Gate Tower12built2003
Tokyo Buildings East Shibuya Building14built1993
Hiroo Garden Forest Building A18built2009
City Terrace Mejiro18built2008
Alpha Grande Shinozaki Highrise18built2008
Tokyo Socio Grande19built2004
Tokyo Intermarks19built2005
Praia Shibuya17built2008
Lions Tower Takenotsuka Garden19built2003
Tokyo Regional Immigration Bureau12built
Livio Gotanda Pragma G Tower17built2005
Kyowa Exeo Corporation Headquarters14built1999
Starzen Shinagawa Building13built2001
ENEOS Toranomon Building13built1997
Tokyo Art Club Building12built1991
Murata Manufacturing Tokyo Branch12built1999
Shizuoka Newspaper Company Building12built1967(2)
BX Building12built2004
Shibuya Garden Front14built2003
City Residents Castle13built1985
Itabashi Ward Office14built
Tokyo Green Hotel Suidobashi16built2008
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Main Tower16built1974
Hotel Okura Tokyo Annex13built1973
Forefront Tower II13built1994(1)
Leben Rivale Tokyo La Torre18built2006
Tokyo Bayview14built1980
Park Mansion Chidorigafuchi15built2004
Nihonbashi Mitsukoshi12built1914
Kasuga Tower Building12built1990(1)
Maronnier Gate12built2007
Hotel Mets Shibuya14built2001
Joule A11built1990
Sumitomo Realty Takadanobaba Building14built1993
JFE Shoji Building13built1972
Tokyo Frontier City Urban Fort Center Wing18built2007
Toyoko Inn Shinagawa-eki Takanawa-guchi14built1999
Sakura Muromachi Building12built1993
NSS2 Building12built1993(1)
Star Court Toyosu18built2007
South Port Shinagawa Building12built1994
Kabuto 54 Kami-Ikebukuro Building12built1993
Ikebukuro Police Station12built1992
Marunouchi Mitsui Building11built1981(1)
Kamematsu Building11built2008
Ace First Building11built1999
Sumitomo Realty Hibiya Building12built1980(1)
Forme Koishikawa14built1990
Ginza Core13built1969
Lexel Nippori Mansion16built2008
CJ Building13built1972
MF Building14built1997
Noa Shiba-Daimon Building12built1983
Kishimoto Building11built1980(1)
Ino Building10built1989
Harumi Center Building10built2006
Fujimi Building Fuji View Tower Iidabashi10built1993
Studio Alta8built1980
Kokuyo Tokyo Shinagawa Office11built1979
Ministry of Defense Building B10built1996(1)
Sumitomo Hamamatsucho Building11built1991
Central Crib Ochanomizu16built2005
Park Square Koishikawa15built2000
Park House Takanawa Platea15built2003(1)
Lions Mansion Kami-Ikebukuro 215built1999
Ginza Washington Building12built1964
Akasaka Daiichi Building12built1979(1)
Mitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking Konan Bui...10built1991(1)
Sai-ai Dream Center9built1963
Shin-Yurakucho Building14built1967(1)
Shin-Nisseki Building11built1981(1)
Brient Koishikawa15built2003(1)
Molis Nippori Ekimae14built1997
Yurakucho Building11built1966(1)
Towa City Homes Minamiazabu14built1999
The Westminster Roppongi14built2003
J-Park Bunkyo Nishikata14built2001
Shimbashi Sumitomo Building11built1982(1)
Akirasan Takahama Building10built1993(1)
Forme Yotsuya Gaien-Higashi15built2004
Sanctus Koishikawa Precise15built2005
Park Axis Ochanomizu Stage15built2006
Comforia Shinjuku-Gyoen II15built2005
Comforia Nibancho15built2006
Comforia Higashi-Ikebukuro15built2006
Lions City Ochanomizu14built2000
Chateau Bunkyo14built1970
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 Next>