Tokyo was founded in 1457 under the name Edo and was a quiet town with a small population. This changed in 1603 when the Tokugawa Shogunate moved the seat of government to Edo. As a result the population increased substantially. After the collapse of the shogunate in 1868 and the establishment of a modern national government, the emperor took up official residence in Edo and moved the capital to Edo from Kyoto. The city was renamed Tokyo, meaning “Eastern Capital,” to reflect the change.

Tokyo was a regular city like any other in Japan until 1943, when the prefectural and municipal governments were merged. Because of this, Tokyo is not technically a city but rather an entire prefecture made up of 23 special independent wards, 26 additional cities and towns, and several islands stretching as far as 350 km out into the Pacific Ocean. The head of the municipal government is located in Shinjuku Ward, and provides prefectural administration over the cities and islands, as well as limited municipal administration for the shared services of the 23 wards, such as water, sewage, and fire services. Each of the 23 wards has its own government administration and is more or less analogous to an independent city, complete with an elected mayor.

Note that this page represents only the 23 special wards of Tokyo, and none of the other cities in Tokyo prefecture.

Total Area of the 23 wards: 621.49 km²

Ward List: Adachi-ku, Arakawa-ku, Itabashi-ku, Edogawa-ku, Ota-ku, Katsushika-ku, Kita-ku, Koto-ku, Shinagawa-ku, Shibuya-ku, Shinjuku-ku, Suginami-ku, Sumida-ku, Setagaya-ku, Taito-ku, Chuo-ku, Chiyoda-ku, Toshima-ku, Nakano-ku, Nerima-ku, Bunkyo-ku, Minato-ku, Meguro-ku

Building Search  
Phorio Page

Building Status Default  • All  • Built  • Under Construction  • On Hold  • Proposed  • Stale Proposal  • Cancelled  • Destroyed  • Vision  • Fantasy

Listing 1301 to 1400 of 1534 buildings
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 Next>
Josuikai Building14built1970
Sumitomo Fudosan Kameido Building14built1994
Municipal Kirigaoka Area 1 Apartment 319built
Tokyo Fire Department Headquarters15built1976
Kayabacho First Building15built2002
Shiodome Annex Building9built2002
Sankyo Tokyo Headquarters14built1998
Meiji Seika Kyobashi Headquarters12built2004
Komagome Municipal Hospital14built
Ioi Insurance Company Headquarters14built
Shibuya Eins18built2001(1)
Senshu University Main Building15built
Tokyo Mega City Comfort Tower20built2004
Municipal Kirigaoka Area 1 Apartment 2719built2001
Core Stalle Nishi-Oi18built1986
City High Dakanawa18built1995
Imperial Hotel Tokyo Main Building17built1970
Nittobo Building14built1989
NTT Shinagawa Twins Data Building12built1986(1)
Toyo University Hakusan Campus Building 216built2006
Tokyo Nishi-Ikebukuro Building14built1990
City Tower Takanawa - Takanawa Community P...18built1995
Kasahara Building13built2008
Mita 43 MT Building16built1983
Tokyo Metro Building14built1990
ATT New Building13built1992
S-LINKS Shibuya18built2022
Co-op Plaza13built1999
Japanese Red Cross Medical Center13built2009
Tokyo Mega City Delight Tower20built2004
Tokyo Frontier City Urban Fort Entry Wing20built2007
Tokyo Frontier City Urban Fort Dear Wing20built2007
Tokyo Frontier City Urban Fort Bright Wing20built2007
Tokyo Frontier City Urban Fort Act Wing20built2007
Tokyo Frontier City Park & Parks Earth Court20built2007
Tokyo Frontier City Park & Parks Delight C...20built2007
Tokyo Frontier City Park & Parks Center Court20built2007
Tokyo Frontier City Park & Parks Aqua Court20built2007
The Harumi Residence20built2009
Place Shirokane Bright Residence20built2005
Harumi Terrace20built2009
Gran Hills Tokyo East20built2001
Famille Shinjuku Grand Suite Tower20built2002
Exage Kaigan20built2002
Tokyo East Core G Square19built2000
The Lions Uenomori19built2008
Regno Grande Ichibancho Tower19built2008
Proud City Kanamachi Garden19built2009
Newton Place19built2004
Dia Palace Asukayama19built2006
City Tower Toyocho19built2008
City Tower Komazawa Statopm Court Tower19built2018
HR Gotanda West Tower18built2005
Harumi Garden Plaza18built1999
Kojimachi Millennium Garden Court17built2000
Rivage Shinagawa16built1993(1)
Kachidoki Sun Square16built1996
Kyoritsu Women's Educational Institution15built
Oval Court Ohsaki Mark East14built2004
Kudan Common Government Office Building No. 214built1986
Hosei University Graduate School14built
Barque Shibaura14built1992
Toyo High School13built1999(1)
Sumitomo Fudosan Iidabashi Building 312built2002
Shinkiba Center Building12built1993
Hibiya Sankei Building12built1992
Bank of Japan Head Office New Building11built1973
Shin-Toyosu Transformer Substation10built2003
Yodobashi Akiba Building9built2005
Tokyo Big Sight8built1995(1)
Tokyo Front Court Canal Wing and Deck Wing20built2005
Tokyo Front Court Blossom Wing20built2005
Tokyo Front Court Aqua Wing20built2005
Prive Blue Tokyo20built2005
Park House O-Tower20built2006
Gran Alt Toyosu Aqua Tower20built2001
Residia Tower Nogizaka19built2004
Park Luxe Shirokane Takanawa19built2017
Glorio Shirogane Takanawa19built2004
Atlas Kasai View Sight19built2002
New TH Building18built2007
Kuipo Building15built2007
Lilio Building13built1996
Aiia Corporation Headquarters Building13built2014
Tokyo Prison12built
Nisshin Fire and Marine Insurance Company ...12built1999
Toranomon Seiwa Building11built2008
Tokyo International Forum8built1996(1)
Toyocho Central Tower19built2004
Park House Kiyosumi-Shirakawa Station Side...20built2005
Park House Kiyosumi-Shirakawa Riverside Bu...20built2005
Shibuya First Place14built2005
QR Media Tower13built2006
Tokyo Metropolitan Art Space10built1990
Shisunabu Ikebukuro-Honcho19built1997
TIS Takeshiba Building10built2000
Roppongi Hills Hollywood Beauty Plaza15built2003
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 Next>