HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Regional Sections > Canada > Manitoba & Saskatchewan

Old Posted Jun 3, 2010, 2:57 AM

Thesis ideas

Throughout this forum, a lot of interesting questions and ideas arise, related to urban planning. As a planning student myself, I love reading these debates and the questions that come up. Sometimes, questions come up that no one has really studied before in depth. My question to you is this:

If you were to write a thesis on a specific urban planning related topic, what would it be?

Old Posted Jun 3, 2010, 5:29 AM

I'm surely way off the horizon here, but I nonetheless thought I'd contribute my $0.02. Something related the the complete and thorough separation of people from the land which birthed them, manifesting itself in the desire for built forms that that are thoroughly antithetical to the land itself - sprawling, McMansion subdivisions over fertile territory with street names mocking the wildlife that once called it home (Deer Run for example).

Or perhaps more accurately, I just have an axe to grind, and this isn't helpful at all.

Old Posted Jun 3, 2010, 5:03 PM

An interesting, if not controversial, subject would be the impact of peak oil on urban planning. In case you're not familiar with the topic, peak oil is the point in time where the maximum rate of petoleum production occurs, after which it will go into terminal decline.

If/when global oil production starts to fall, what will happen to our cities? Several theories include oil becoming so expensive that no one could afford to drive cars anymore, and suddenly mass transit, cycling and walking will take on new importance. Perhaps the suburbs will become the new ghettos as people try living closer to where they work? What will the impact of more people living in higher density housing be?