Tokyo was founded in 1457 under the name Edo and was a quiet town with a small population. This changed in 1603 when the Tokugawa Shogunate moved the seat of government to Edo. As a result the population increased substantially. After the collapse of the shogunate in 1868 and the establishment of a modern national government, the emperor took up official residence in Edo and moved the capital to Edo from Kyoto. The city was renamed Tokyo, meaning “Eastern Capital,” to reflect the change.

Tokyo was a regular city like any other in Japan until 1943, when the prefectural and municipal governments were merged. Because of this, Tokyo is not technically a city but rather an entire prefecture made up of 23 special independent wards, 26 additional cities and towns, and several islands stretching as far as 350 km out into the Pacific Ocean. The head of the municipal government is located in Shinjuku Ward, and provides prefectural administration over the cities and islands, as well as limited municipal administration for the shared services of the 23 wards, such as water, sewage, and fire services. Each of the 23 wards has its own government administration and is more or less analogous to an independent city, complete with an elected mayor.

Note that this page represents only the 23 special wards of Tokyo, and none of the other cities in Tokyo prefecture.

Total Area of the 23 wards: 621.49 km²

Ward List: Adachi-ku, Arakawa-ku, Itabashi-ku, Edogawa-ku, Ota-ku, Katsushika-ku, Kita-ku, Koto-ku, Shinagawa-ku, Shibuya-ku, Shinjuku-ku, Suginami-ku, Sumida-ku, Setagaya-ku, Taito-ku, Chuo-ku, Chiyoda-ku, Toshima-ku, Nakano-ku, Nerima-ku, Bunkyo-ku, Minato-ku, Meguro-ku

Building Search  
Phorio Page

Default  • All  • Built  • Under Construction  • On Hold  • Proposed  • Stale Proposal  • Cancelled  • Destroyed  • Vision  • Fantasy

Listing 801 to 900 of 1355 buildings
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 Next>
Nishi-Toyama Tower Homes North Tower25built1988
Nishi-Toyama Tower Homes Central Tower25built1988
Sky City Toyosu Bayside Tower24built1997
Konan 4-chome 3rd Apartment Building 424built2006
Shinagawa Glass Residence20built2007
The Itoyama Tower18built1997(1)
Shin-Nikko Building19built1988
Itabashi Sun City G25built1980
Harumi View Plaza24built1996
TBS Broadcasting Center20built1995
Tri-Seven Roppongi18built2016
Municipal Housing Kachidoki 1-chome Apartm...18built
Shibuya Hommachi 3-chome Plan17built2008
Shinjuku South Entrance Project16built2019
Shinjuku I-Land Wing Building16built1994
National Cancer Center New Building14built2017
Jiji Press Headquarters Building14built
Shinjuku Yamabukicho Eins Tower24built2008
City Tower Yotsuya24built2004
Grand Suite Toranomon21built2007
JR Tokyu Meguro Building17built2002
Chiyoda First Building East17built1998
Ciels Garden L Tower25built2003
Sumitomo Fudosan Mita Building Plan15built2016
City Tower Shinagawa Park Front23built2018
Park Tower Tokyo East23built
Ryogoku City Core18built1992
Hibiya Chanter18built
Nishi-Azabu Mitsui Building Park West Tower19built1988
Yurakucho Denki South Building18built1975
Fuji Film Nishi-Azabu Building18built1969(1)
Nihombashi Hakozaki Building17built
Omori Prost City Residence25built2005
World Kita-Aoyama Building14built2007
Hamarikyu Park Side Place17built2002
Ikebukuro Park Tower23built1999
Forest of Owl22built
Meiji University Academy Commonbuilt2003
Famille Shimo-Shimmei24built
Hikarigaoka Park Town Odori South 7-8-1 Bu...25built
Zexel Building18built
Rise Arena Building15built2007
Leaf Court Azabu25built2003
Luxia Shinagawa Porto Citta22built2004
Park Tower Tokyo Front23built2004
Orix Headquarters Building18built
Mitsubishi Chemical Holdings Building16built2006
Green Prism Tower24built2005
Royal Park Hotel Tokyo18built1990
Toyosu 1-chome Plan23built2008
Charming Square Toyosu23built2008
Integral Tower Obayashi18built1993
Koishikawa Park Tower23built1991
Trinity Shibaura24built1988
Oval Court Ohsaki Mark West17built2004
Prefectural Meeting Hall15built
Kokusai Shin-Akasaka West Building18built1980(1)
Japan Kenzai Group Headquarters18built2007
Showa University Hospital Entry Ward17built1980
Takashimaya Times Square14built1996(1)
NHK Science & Technical Research Laborator...14built2001
Museum of Maritime Sciencebuilt1974
Forefront Tower18built1991(1)
Juntendo University Building 117built
Roppongi Ark Towers East25built1986
Kita-Shinjuku 3-chome Project24built2008
Sumitomo Realty Sarugakucho Building17built1992
Tomin Tower Tamagawa 2-chome25built1998
Sun Towers Center Building18built1992
NT Building17built1996
Omori Bellport Building E18built
Omori Bellport Building D18built
Omori Bellport Building B18built
Omori Bellport Building A Isuzu Motors Hea...18built
Tokyo Medical and Dental University Annex ...17built1996
Okuma Memorial Tower17built2006
Fujisawa Building17built1986(1)
Twin City Machiya Municipal Housing22built1998
Tokyo Daiya Building 515built1990
METI Building18built1984(1)
Ebisu Neonart18built1994
La Tour Kagurazaka24built2002
Sumitomo Realty Shinagawa Building17built1994
Sumitomo Realty Kudan Building15built2006
Marunouchi Chuo Building14built
Nishi-Waseda City Tower23built1999
Sophia University Building 218built2005
Shintoradori CORE15built2018
Nichirei Akashicho Building18built1988
Omori Master Place24built1998
Akihabara Center Place Building16built2007
Yurakucho Marion14built
Tokyo Club Building14built2007
REMM Akihabara Hotel18built2008
Ishima Building18built
Kokusai Akasaka Building20built
Tokyo Metropolitan Police Department Headq...18built1980(1)
Shiba NBF Tower18built
Public Housing Seishin-Minami Heights Buil...23built
Public Housing Seishin-Kita Heights Buildi...23built
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 Next>