HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForumSkyscraper Posters


Tokyo was founded in 1457 under the name Edo and was a quiet town with a small population. This changed in 1603 when the Tokugawa Shogunate moved the seat of government to Edo. As a result the population increased substantially. After the collapse of the shogunate in 1868 and the establishment of a modern national government, the emperor took up official residence in Edo and moved the capital to Edo from Kyoto. The city was renamed Tokyo, meaning “Eastern Capital,” to reflect the change.

Tokyo was a regular city like any other in Japan until 1943, when the prefectural and municipal governments were merged. Because of this, Tokyo is not technically a city but rather an entire prefecture made up of 23 special independent wards, 26 additional cities and towns, and several islands stretching as far as 350 km out into the Pacific Ocean. The head of the municipal government is located in Shinjuku Ward, and provides prefectural administration over the cities and islands, as well as limited municipal administration for the shared services of the 23 wards, such as water, sewage, and fire services. Each of the 23 wards has its own government administration and is more or less analogous to an independent city, complete with an elected mayor.

Note that this page represents only the 23 special wards of Tokyo, and none of the other cities in Tokyo prefecture.

Total Area of the 23 wards: 621.49 km²

Ward List: Adachi-ku, Arakawa-ku, Itabashi-ku, Edogawa-ku, Ota-ku, Katsushika-ku, Kita-ku, Koto-ku, Shinagawa-ku, Shibuya-ku, Shinjuku-ku, Suginami-ku, Sumida-ku, Setagaya-ku, Taito-ku, Chuo-ku, Chiyoda-ku, Toshima-ku, Nakano-ku, Nerima-ku, Bunkyo-ku, Minato-ku, Meguro-ku

Building Search  

Default  • All  • Built  • Under Construction  • On Hold  • Proposed  • Stale Proposal  • Cancelled  • Destroyed  • Vision  • Fantasy

Listing 601 to 700 of 1300 buildings
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 Next>
Sumitomo Seimei Tsukiji Building23built1985(1)
Nerima Ward Office21built
Hikarigaoka Park Town Promenade Block 10 B...30built1989
Tokyo Seimei Head Office Building20built1988
T & D Financial Building20built
Proud Tower Futako-Tamagawa27built2006
Cosmo Tokyo Bay Tower26built2000
Citenubu Kita-Senju 3030built1990
Atlas Tower Koishikawa28built2004
Osaki New City Building 3 Nissay Building21built1987
Kita-Shinagawa ON Building21built1990
Shin-Ochanomizu Building22built1981(1)
Kosha Tower Komatsugawa30built1993
Park City Suginami Central Tower28built2000
City Tower Ikebukuro26built2003
Sunwood Mita Parkside Tower25built2005
Hotel Kaiyo22built1992
Tokyo Jikei Medical School Building 118built2002
Central Residence City Tower Ikebukuro26built2003
Shibaura Renasite Tower19built2008
Mitsui Fudosan Mita Twin Building East17built2006
Kita-Shinagawa 5-Chome Redevelopment Proje...20built2015
Arca Towers Kinshicho Arca East19built1997
Tokyo Arts Center22built2006
Anzen Building22built2008
Marunouchi Hotel18built2004
Marks Tower28built2005
Lions Tower Ikebukuro28built2001
Nakano Sunplaza21built1973
Women's Cultural University20built1999
Tokyo High Level Regional Court19built1973
Ministry of Defense Building A19built(1)
Keio Shinagawa Building19built2004(1)
Kojimachi Millennium Garden Court17built2000
East 21 Tower21built
Mizuho Bank Shibuya Office Center20built
Century Tower21built1991(1)
APA Hotel Kabukicho Tower28under construction
Funabori Station Front Toki Tower27built1991
Iidabashi 2-chome Plan25built2007
Roppongi First Building20built1993
Hamamatsucho Square20built2004
Itochu Shoji Headquarters22built
Shinjuku First West18built2003
Mitsubishi Trust and Banking Building16built1994
Kamiyacho MT Building20built1993
Central Government Building No. 6 Section A21built1990
Mita Police Family Standby Lodgings24built2007
Mita Heiwa Building21built
Crest Tower Shinagawa Seaside26built2008
Marui Co. Ltd. Head Office19built1994
Iidabashi Plano19built2008
Ikebukuro Duplex Tower27built2007
The Westin Tokyo23built1994
Toshi Center Hotel22built1999
J-Tower Nishi-Oi28built2003
Tokyo Bay Ariake Washington Hotel22built1999
Hotel East 21 Tokyo21built1992
Shiba Park Tower25built2001
Proud Tower Kiba Koen27under construction
Toyota Tokyo Headquarters19built1982
Sumitomo Realty Korakuen Building20built1998
Wellith City Omori Tower25built2008
Grand Maison Ebisu23built2003
Tokyo Bank Association Building20built1993(1)
Harumi Island Triton Square Tower W19built2000
Aoyama Rise Square17built
Tokyo Medical and Dental University Genera...21built2004
Sumitomo Shoji Takebashi Building16built1970(1)
Axia Azabu25built2005
Otemachi 1-Chome 3rd District Redevelopmen...18under construction
Aoyama First Mansions22built
Tsukiji Togeki Building20built1975
Cerulian Homes Kachidoki26built2001
Yurakucho Denki Building20built1975
Celstine Shiba Mitsui Building17built2002
Central Government Building No. 6 Section C20built
Central Government Building No. 6 Section B20built
Kagurazaka Eins Tower26built2003
Hotel Grand Palace23built1972
Osaki New City Building 4 Shin-Osaki Kangy...20built1987
Osaki New City Building 1 TOC Osaki Building20built1987
Shinagawa Seaside Eins Tower25built2006
Marunouchi Center Building20built1984(1)
Renaiss Shinjuku Gyoen Tower25built2003
GSK Building18built1990
Bar Association Hall17built1995
TBS Akasaka 5-chome Redevelopment Resident...22built2008
Nihombashi-Hamacho F Tower20built1997
Shin-Kasumigaseki Building19built1987
Hamacho Center Building18built1993
Sumitomo Fudosan Takanawa Park Tower20built1994
Tabata Asuka Tower19built1993
Bureau Shinagawa24built2003
Tomin Tower Senju 5-Chome21built
White Tower Hamamatsucho24built2008
Shinagawa Crystal Square20built1994
Tokyo Medical University Hospital19built
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 Next>