HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForumSkyscraper Posters


Tokyo was founded in 1457 under the name Edo and was a quiet town with a small population. This changed in 1603 when the Tokugawa Shogunate moved the seat of government to Edo. As a result the population increased substantially. After the collapse of the shogunate in 1868 and the establishment of a modern national government, the emperor took up official residence in Edo and moved the capital to Edo from Kyoto. The city was renamed Tokyo, meaning “Eastern Capital,” to reflect the change.

Tokyo was a regular city like any other in Japan until 1943, when the prefectural and municipal governments were merged. Because of this, Tokyo is not technically a city but rather an entire prefecture made up of 23 special independent wards, 26 additional cities and towns, and several islands stretching as far as 350 km out into the Pacific Ocean. The head of the municipal government is located in Shinjuku Ward, and provides prefectural administration over the cities and islands, as well as limited municipal administration for the shared services of the 23 wards, such as water, sewage, and fire services. Each of the 23 wards has its own government administration and is more or less analogous to an independent city, complete with an elected mayor.

Note that this page represents only the 23 special wards of Tokyo, and none of the other cities in Tokyo prefecture.

Total Area of the 23 wards: 621.49 km²

Ward List: Adachi-ku, Arakawa-ku, Itabashi-ku, Edogawa-ku, Ota-ku, Katsushika-ku, Kita-ku, Koto-ku, Shinagawa-ku, Shibuya-ku, Shinjuku-ku, Suginami-ku, Sumida-ku, Setagaya-ku, Taito-ku, Chuo-ku, Chiyoda-ku, Toshima-ku, Nakano-ku, Nerima-ku, Bunkyo-ku, Minato-ku, Meguro-ku

Building Search  

Default  • All  • Built  • Under Construction  • On Hold  • Proposed  • Stale Proposal  • Cancelled  • Destroyed  • Vision  • Fantasy

Listing 1201 to 1300 of 1300 buildings
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13
Sumitomo Realty Takadanobaba Building14built1993
JFE Shoji Building13built1972
Tokyo Frontier City Urban Fort Center Wing18built2007
Toyoko Inn Shinagawa-eki Takanawa-guchi14built
Sakura Muromachi Building12built1993
NSS2 Building12built
Itopia Hamarikyu14built1979
Star Court Toyosu18built2007
South Port Shinagawa Building12built
Kabuto 54 Kami-Ikebukuro Building12built1993
Ikebukuro Police Station12built
Marunouchi Mitsui Building11built(1)
Kamematsu Building11built2008
Ace First Building11built1999
Sumitomo Realty Hibiya Building12built1980
Forme Koishikawa14built1990
Lexel Mansion Nishi-Nippori Construction16built2008
CJ Building13built
MF Building14built
Noa Shiba-Daimon Building12built1983
Kishimoto Building11built1980(1)
Ino Building10built
Harumi Center Building10built2006
Fujimi Building Fuji View Tower Iidabashi10built
Kokuyo Tokyo Shinagawa Office11built
Ministry of Defense Building B10built1996(1)
Sumitomo Hamamatsucho Building11built1989
Central Crib Ochanomizu16built2005
Park Square Koishikawa15built2000
Lions Mansion Kami-Ikebukuro 215built1999
Akasaka Daiichi Building12built
Mitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking Konan Bui...10built1991
Shin-Yurakucho Building14built1967
Shin-Nisseki Building11built1981
Brient Koishikawa15built2003
Molis Nippori Ekimae14built
Nakagin Capsule Tower13built1972(1)
Yurakucho Building11built1966
J-Park Bunkyo Nishikata14built2001
Shimbashi Sumitomo Building11built
Konan Park Building10built
Forme Yotsuya Gaien-Higashi15built2004
Sanctus Koishikawa Precise15built2005
Park House Takanawa Platea15built2003
Park Axis Ochanomizu Stage15built2006
Comforia Shinjuku-Gyoen II15built2005
Comforia Nibancho15built2006
Comforia Higashi-Ikebukuro15built2006
Lions City Ochanomizu14built2000
Chateau Bunkyo14built1970
Palos Nippori13built1999
Ministry of Defense Building E10built
Ministry of Defense Building D10built
Minato Ward Office10built
Ryuen Building11built1989
Akasaka DS Building10built1992
Uls Takanawa Fairhills14built2002
Pias Takanawa14built2003
Shinagawa Ward Office9built
Shinjuku Ward Office8built1966
Sumitomo Realty Shiba Building 39built1992
MEXT Building10built1964
Shin-Kokusai Building9built1965
Sumitomo Higashi-Shimbashi Building 39built1985
Comforia Nishi-Waseda14built2005
Art Vert Koishikawa14built
Across Yushima14built2006
Kokusai Building9built1966
Ministry of Defense Building C9built
Shimbashi Yamane Building9built1988
Yodobashi Ueno Building9built2008
Nippori Ekimae Chuo Building10built
Nakano Ward Office9built
Carrot Tower27built1996
Jingumae Residence18built2013
Prefectural Assembly Hall16built
Ota Ward Office11built1998
Marunouchi-Nakadori Building10built1971
Fuji Building10built1962
Shin-Tokyo Building9built1963
Otemachi Building9built1958
Otemachi Building9built1958
Shinagawa Incineration Plant8built2005
Toshima Ward Office7built1961
NTT Communications Otemachi Building7built
Edogawa General Citizens Hall7built1999
Bamboo House 16built(1)
Arakawa Ward Office6built
Edogawa Incineration Plant5built1997
National Diet Building4built1936(1)
Tokyo Station Marunouchi Building3built1914
Bank of Japan Head Office Old Building3built1896
Tokyo National Museum2built1937
Akasaka Geihinkan2built1909
TEPCO Shinagawa Thermal Power Plantbuilt(1)
Sumida Incineration Plantbuilt1998
Setagaya Incineration Plantbuilt2007
Nerima Incineration Plantbuilt1992(1)
Katsushika Incineration Plantbuilt2006
<Prev - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13